Cookies Policy
We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy. Find out More
  • Menu


The Scientific Advisory Board is a body responsible for internal evaluation and monitoring that produces reports on the scientific activity of the institution. This body is composed of internal researchers and external personalities, e.g. Portuguese scientists and members of the international scientific community.

Its members are elected for five-year terms by the General Council on a proposal from the Administrative Board, and can be re-elected any number of times.



Chairman: José Carlos Príncipe (University of Florida, USA)

Volker Stich (Aachen University of Technology, Germany)

José Luíz Fiadeiro (University of Leicester, United Kingdom)

John O’Reilly (University College of London, United Kingdom)

Leonardo Chiariglione (CEDEO, Italy)

Tomaz Goméz (Universidad Pontificia Comillas, Spain)

Faramarz Farahi (University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA)

Steven P. Nichols (University of Texas at Austin, USA)

José A. B. Fortes (University of Florida, USA)

James C. Spohrer (IBM University Programs World-Wide, USA)

Max Viergever (University Medical Center Utrecht, The Netherlands)

Pere Ridao (VICOROB — Institut de Recerca en Visió Per Computador i Robòtica, Spain)

Bruno Siciliano (PRISMA Lab, Italy)

Pedro Larrañaga (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain)

Christian Cachin, (IBM Research-Zurich, Switzerland)